Writing on Improvisation – 11 June & 10 September

In closing of the Carpet Season of this year, I propose an unusual gathering:

Let’s have a look together at the subject of leaving traces of writing about our improvisation work. How can that be done, in a subject as wide as interdisciplinarity and as fluid as improvisation? Which type of writing is useful/effective for our own process and which types of writing are effective for sharing with others? How can we find the words that are full and clear enough for developing the craft of instant composition together?

calvin-writingBettina Neuhaus & Maria Michailidou will meet with me on Thursday, 11 June, and we invite anyone who was involved in Carpet Sessions before to join us. We’ll play, perform and write in still to be defined order and interlacing…

Bring your favorite writing tool (laptop, paper+pen, smartphone, typewriter… 😉 ) and your performer’s presence.

Results will be published in our ever-growing Improvisation Knowledge Base.

If you would like to be there, please announce your presence by writing a comment to this post.

11 June 2015

13:00-17:00

What are the Carpet Sessions? / Where is the studio?

We plan another sessions like this for the beginning of the season: 10 September

– if you’d like to note it in your agenda already 🙂

5 thoughts on “Writing on Improvisation – 11 June & 10 September

  1. Is it sessions, as written or session?. And like like the ones we did, or do you mean a ‘writingsession’. I’ll note it in my book anyway, but I’m curious what you meant precisely.

    1. Hi Zwaan, I am not sure if I understand your question, but will try to answer 🙂 Both sessions tomorrow and in September are about “writing about improvisation” and we will be going from playing and performing to writing and back during the session. So bring your favourite writing tool (computer or pen+paper), if you come!

  2. I was planning to come and SO looking forward to it as I’m not dancing much lately, but I’m having a really bad week, pain & brain fog/headache wise so I think it’s better for me to stay home today. Very disappointed not to join you all. Wish you a productive, daring, moving session! XX Suzan

  3. It was fantastic improvising and writing with everyone yesterday. I am very interested in following how the concepts we explored will be developed in later sessions!

Leave a comment